?

Log in

 
Jocelyn Pearce aka Teen Book Reviewer
17 January 2008 @ 02:34 pm
I've got a lot of updates for you all!

Here are my latest reviews:
Thura's Diary: My Life In Wartime Iraq by Thura Al-Windawi
How They Met, And Other Stories by David Levithan
The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson
The Opposite of Invisible by Liz Gallagher

It's also a big time of year for book awards. Here's my post on the second batch of Cybils finalists, and then on the ALA's Youth Media Awards.

I've also gotten the chance to interview Melissa Walker, author of Violet on the Runway.

Here are a few of my recent favorite links from around the internet.

I also posted on a few books that I'm really looking forward to in 2008.
 
 
Jocelyn Pearce aka Teen Book Reviewer
04 January 2008 @ 05:27 pm
I updated my blogroll, including some new links to author blogs (you'll have to check out the sidebar on the main page to actually see these).
Here's a post about privilege, including some great links as to how it relates to YA lit and a meme.
Check out my first review of a 2008 read, counting for both the 2k8 and the 888 challenges: I Heart You, You Haunt Me by Lisa Schroeder.
I've also signed up for my third challenge of the year: The Chunkster Challenge.
 
 
Jocelyn Pearce aka Teen Book Reviewer
01 January 2008 @ 05:49 pm
I've decided to participate in the Triple 8 Challenge.
To celebrate the new year, I'm sharing some great links.
I've reviewed Fly on the Wall, a great book by E. Lockhart.
I've posted the Cybils finalists in four categories, with a few of my thoughts.
My blog also has a new look, and I'd love to know what you think of it.
 
 
Jocelyn Pearce aka Teen Book Reviewer
30 December 2007 @ 05:57 pm
I've got a lot of updates for you, as it's been a couple of links since I last posted updates here. Here's links:

I completed a Christmas meme as part of the Book Binge Christmas Contest.
Here's a review of the latest in the Kiki Strike series.
Don't forget to check out the Class of 2k8!
Katherine Applegate's Home of the Brave is definitely worth checking out. Other Cybils nominees I reviewed recently are Class Favorite, Leap of Faith, and Reaching for Sun.
Here I wish you all a ( now late) Merry Christmas and give you links to check out.
Test your typing speed and let me know how you do!
Make sure you check out my best book of 2007, shortlist, and rather long list, as well as what are basically reading reflections from the year.
I failed the Saturday Review of Books Challenge.
I made reading goals for 2008.
Here's some more cool links!
I also started my own challenge! Check out the details of (and maybe join) the 2k8 Challenge!

That's it for now. Or, you can just go to the front blog page and read it all there.
 
 
 
Jocelyn Pearce aka Teen Book Reviewer
16 December 2007 @ 03:40 pm
This post is inspired by Liz’s piece  about kids reading at an advanced reading level at a young age, through which I also found Alix Flinn’s post on the subject. Go ahead, before reading my story, read those two interesting, informative posts. Especially if you’re planning on buying a book for a kid who is not your own this Christmas–you don’t want any parents angry at you if they don’t want their kid reading more mature books.
Read More
 
 
Jocelyn Pearce aka Teen Book Reviewer
Read my review of this wonderful pirate adventure story here.
 
 
Jocelyn Pearce aka Teen Book Reviewer
15 December 2007 @ 06:30 pm
I've just posted my thoughts on the 2007 Cybils MG nominee The Wild Girls by Pat Murphy. Enjoy!
 
 
Jocelyn Pearce aka Teen Book Reviewer
11 December 2007 @ 11:17 pm
My most recent posts are not reviews, but I'll have some reviews for you guys soon.

However, I do have my thoughts on the often-used phrase "this should be required reading."

Also a rant on the similarities of TV and books and why watching TV is not a brain-killing experience the way my elementary school librarian always told me.

Last but not least, I need your help! I just want your suggestions for what review I should show people as an example of what I can do as a reviewer. It won't take but a few minutes to find one and let me know in the comments or an email!
 
 
Jocelyn Pearce aka Teen Book Reviewer
08 December 2007 @ 06:15 pm
I haven't posted my updates here lately, I'm sorry! It's been so long that I can't post about everything here, so you'll have to check the blog, but here are a few links to some updates:
Check out my review of A Crooked Kind of Perfect by Linda Urban, "a funny, heartwarming debut...[it] will make a great holiday gift."
Don't miss my take on Converting Kate, a novel about a teen girl questioning her faith.
Also an interesting read is Brian Mandabach's Or Not, a thought-provoking, extremely well-written first novel.
Go Figure is another great book I've read recently.
Snitch by Allison van Diepen is an unexpectedly fantastic read, too.

Don't forget, that's not everything!